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Individual Importation of 
Alcoholic Beverages 

For Personal Use 
 
 

Definitions 
 
The Washington State Liquor Control Board (WSLCB) governs the importation of alcoholic beverages from 
foreign countries and other states for personal use.    
 
“Alcoholic beverage” includes beer, wine and/or spirituous liquor.  
 
“Private individual” means a person bringing alcoholic beverages into Washington from another state, or from 
outside the United States, for personal or household use.  
 
“Personal use” means the alcoholic beverages must be consumed by a private individual, family member, or 
guest, or gifted to another private individual or a nonprofit organization not licensed by the WSLCB.  The 
alcoholic beverages may not be sold, or resold.   
 
“Equivalent markup and tax” means the average state markup and tax which would apply to the purchase of 
the same, or similar alcoholic beverages, at retail, from a state liquor store.    
 
“Bringing alcoholic beverages into the state” means personally carrying alcohol beverages purchased 
outside of Washington state, into the state of Washington.  Persons who purchase alcoholic beverages for 
personal use cannot have the products shipped into the state.  However, persons who purchase alcoholic 
beverages for personal use from auction sellers may have their purchases shipped into the state, provided 
they obtain advance authorization from the WSLCB and arrange to pay the equivalent markup and tax.  
 
 
Importing Liquor for Personal Use 
 
How much alcohol can a private individual bring into the state of Washington for personal use?  
 
When bringing alcoholic beverages into Washington State from inside the U.S., there is no markup and taxes on 
the first 2 liters of spirits, wine or the first 288 ounces of beer.  Markup and taxes must be paid for amounts in 
excess of 2 liters of spirits, wine, or 288 ounces of beer. 
 
When bringing alcoholic beverages into Washington State from outside the U.S., there is no markup and taxes 
on the first 1 liter per person, as allowed to enter the U.S. duty free by Federal Law. Markup and taxes must be 
paid for amounts in excess of 1 liter.  Please see the procedure for household move exemption below. 
 
You must meet the following criteria before bringing alcoholic beverages into the U.S.  
 

• You must be 21 years of age or older.  
• You must have been out of the country for 48 hours or more. 
• The exemption is limited to once per 30 days.   

  
Returning U.S. residents from American Samoa, Guam or the U.S. Virgin Islands may bring in 1 gallon (128 
ounces) of wine.  Any amount in excess of one gallon may be imported upon payment of federal duty, and the 
equivalent Washington State markup and tax.   
  
Individuals moving into the state, or receiving alcoholic beverages through inheritance or estate settlements, will 
be allowed a one-time exemption from payment of tax and markup.   
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Procedures for Foreign Imports 
 

1. Complete a WSLCB declaration form, which is available from the United States Customs Service as you 
go though customs.   

 
2. Compute the state taxes and markup using the chart on the form.  

 
3. Sign the form keeping one copy for your records and providing a copy to the U. S. Customs Service.   

 
4. Send a copy of the declaration form along with your payment to:  

 
Washington State Liquor Control Board  
Finance Division  
P.O. Box  43085   
Olympia, WA 98504-3085  
 
It must be postmarked within 10 days of passing through customs 

 
 
 
Procedure for Household Move Exemption 
 
Individuals moving into Washington State are allowed a one-time exemption from payment of state markup and 
tax on alcoholic beverages. This includes military personnel moving into Washington State. Alcoholic beverages 
can only be shipped to an individual in Washington when it is part of a household move. Alcoholic beverages 
must be shipped at the same time as your household goods, however may be shipped separately.  When 
moving back to Washington State, the WSLCB will provide you with an Individual Importation permit that 
authorizes the shipment of your alcoholic beverages into Washington State.  
 
The following information is needed for your permit: 

1. Name  
2. Washington State address  
3. Washington State home phone number or a cell phone number if no home number 
4. Number of bottles of each type of alcoholic beverage  

(Spirits, Wine, Malt Beverage and/or Cider)   
5. Size of bottles  

   
There is no limit on the number of bottles; however the alcoholic beverage(s) can only be for personal use and 
not for resale.  When the above information is received, your permit will be e-mailed, mailed, or faxed to you.  
Please provide one signed copy to the shipper for clearing U.S. Customs.  The other signed copy is for your 
records.  Any federal taxes and duties from U.S. Customs are separate from the state requirements. 
  
Procedures for Domestic Imports  
  
You must obtain prior authorization from the WSLCB before bringing alcoholic beverages from another state into 
Washington for personal use.  Private individuals who fail to obtain prior authorization will be subject to the 
provision of RCW 66.44.160, “Illegal possession, transportation of alcoholic beverages.”  
You must obtain approval if you know the quantity of alcohol you will be bringing into Washington state.  To 
receive authorization please: 
  

1. Mail a list of the items to be brought into Washington state to the WSLCB.  
2. The Purchasing Division will compute the tax and markup.  
3. The WSLCB will mail an authorization once the payment of applicable equivalent markup and tax has 

been paid.   
 
If you are unaware of the quantity of alcohol you will be bringing into the state, you must mail a certification that 
markup and tax will be paid to the WSLCB.  The Purchasing division will review the certification, and mail you an 
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authorization to bring the alcoholic beverage into the state along with a declaration form.  Once you have 
brought the alcohol into the state you must:  
 

1. Fill out the declaration form.  
2. Compute the state taxes and markup using the chart on the form.  
3. Sign the form and keep a copy for your records.  
4. Mail a copy of the form with payment to the Washington State Liquor Control Board within ten days.    

 
 
Duty Free Stores-Export  
  
Duty free stores are located near the Canadian border and in international airports.  These privately owned 
businesses operate under jurisdiction of the United States Customs Service.  The sale of duty free merchandise 
for export is restricted to persons leaving the U.S. with their purchases.  When a purchase is made, it can be 
picked up after crossing the border.  If you are flying out of country, you can pick up your purchases at the 
airport departure gate.   
  
The following can be brought into Canada without payment of duty, tax, or markup to the state of Washington  
or the Province of British Columbia:  
 

• 40 ounces of spirits or  
• 40 ounces of wine or  
• 288 ounces of beer  

  
This allowance applies to U.S. citizens who are visiting Canada.  It also applies to Canadian citizens who are 
returning to Canada, after a visit to the U.S. of 48 hours or more.   
 
Note:  If you have been out of the U.S. for more than 48 hours, you may bring up to one liter of liquor purchased 
at a U.S. duty free store back into the state of Washington without paying U.S. duty and taxes or Washington 
State taxes and markup. 
 
Washington State Markup and Tax Per Ounce  
 

Spirits (Liqueurs, gin, etc.) .65  
Still Wine .06 
Sparkling Wine .06 
Malt Beverages .04 
Cider .04 

 
 
For More Information  
U.S. Customs:    (360) 332-8511  
Canadian Customs:   (604) 535-9754  
Liquor Control Board:    (360) 664-1672  
 
 
This document was published by the Washington State Liquor Control Board.  Persons with a disability who 
need this document in an alternative format or other accommodation to participate may call (360) 664-1646 or 
the Washington State Liquor Control Board's AT&T’s relay service 1-800-833-6388.  
 
Washington State Liquor Control Board  
3000 Pacific Avenue SE  
PO Box 43085 
Olympia, WA 98504-3085  
  
(360) 664-1600  
www.liq.wa.gov 
 

http://www.liq.wa.gov/

